Publish a Comment-Friendly Link with WriterDuet Read

Looking to get some feedback on your work? Want people to only see the draft at a particular state? Need to share your work with friends who don't have a WriterDuet account? Easy! Generate a link that brings anybody to a view of your document. They can leave comments that go directly to your document in WriterDuet. 

In This Article


WriterDuet Read links are like sharing a PDF, but with a few added benefits: 

  1. WriterDuet Read links can be opened in one click, so don't require a file to be passed around. 
  2. Scripts are made to look good on mobile devices but maintain the correct page count.
  3. Comments can be added in one click, and WriterDuetters will see these comments right there in WriterDuet. 

This will create a read-only version of the current draft that is viewable through the link. You can provide access to your latest version by creating a new link. 

  1. Select Share from just above the page, or from the main menu select Share > Share Project
  2. Check the box next to Publish Link 
  3. Select Copy link
  4. Share the link with friends, collaborators, editors, etc.



Update Published Version

If you have made edits to the document and want to update what people can see on WriterDuet Read, simply update the published version.

  1. Select Share from just above the page, or from the main menu select Share > Share Project
  2. Select Update published version



Edit Comment Visibility

By navigating to the link yourself and logging into WriterDuet Read, you'll be able to change permission for comments you have left to publicly viewable, viewable only for you, or not allowing comments at all.

  1. When leaving the comment, click Visible to until you see the desired option
    1. Everyone
    2. Myself
    3. Author

OR

  1. If the comment already exists, navigate to the Comments tab in the left panel
    1. As needed, check all the boxes for the comments you wish to affect
  2. Select the three-dot icon
  3. Select the desired options
    1. Set to Public
    2. Set to Author Only
    3. Set to Private



Delete a Public Link

This will remove access to the document on WriterDuet Read. 

  1. Select Share from just above the page, or from the main menu select Share > Share Project
  2. Uncheck the box next to Publish Link 
Did this answer your question? Thanks for the feedback There was a problem submitting your feedback. Please try again later.